An Introduction

I downloaded the MLCad free digital Lego building program this last summer, and in doing so opened a new chapter in my personal Lego story.

As a child, Lego was my favourite toy, and I’m old enough that one of my first prized “big” sets was the 1979 classic, 928 Space Cruiser and Moonbase. But in my teenage years, a combination of parental and peer pressure resulted in me giving away my whole mountain of bricks.

I traveled a lot in my early adulthood, and then when I did settle in one place, the house in which I lived was carpeted in an ancient, thick shag-pile carpet in which entire nations of pygmies still roam to this day. The amount of Lego which could potentially get lost in such a carpet is probably staggering.

Recreating that childhood mountain of Lego seemed like a non-starter. On the rare occasions I thought about it, I put the idea of actually becoming a builder again firmly behind me.

While we’re on the subject, let me address the perspective from which I approach Lego.

Among AFOLs (Adult Fans Of Lego), there seem to be two kinds: those who are primarily collectors and those who are primarily builders. Collectors’ aim is to obtain rare and hard-to-find sets, to have and build all of the sets in a particular theme. Builders are less concerned with set numbers and more concerned with actually making things. There’s some overlap, but in general you seem to be either a collector or a builder.

I suspect there’s some of that even in the way different children approach Lego. I had friends who would build the model shown on the box, play with it a bit and then set it on a shelf for months at a time.

Not me. I’m definitely in the second category. I seldom built the thing on the box more than once, and when I’d built it, it seldom stayed intact for more than a day. There were too many original creations in my head jostling for the use of those cool bricks.

So I’m approaching this rediscovered interest as very much still a builder. And so a digital Lego program lets me build some of the things I can imagine even when I don’t yet have the physical bricks to make it work.

I’m intending that this blog be a platform for me to share my creations, whether digital or physical.

This blog is called “Square Feet”, which has a double meaning. Not only does it refer to the shape of a standard Lego minifigure, but it also references a standard measurement of area from my day job as a construction worker. Apparently, I’m a Builder. It’s what I do.

It being still close to Christmas, I’m going to kick things off by sharing the winter village that I didn’t quite get finished in time for Christmas.

Yule Village1

The village sign. This is a private joke, because where I grew up was “Ewell village”, pronounced almost exactly the same as “Yule”

Yule Village7

A view over the back showing the military band playing carols

Yule Village6

Down the high street

Yule Village5

The church. Like in the real Ewell, it’s a St. Mary’s

Yule Village4

Aerial view

Yule Village3

General view from the north side

Yule Village2

View from the east side

Leave a Reply

