A Beginning: Orion Transport

As a child, my Lego building was almost all about space. I grew up on the original Classic Space theme, with the awesome 928 Space Cruiser and its cohorts. The classic blue-brick construction with yellow windows is indelibly etched on my subconscious as “appropriate colour scheme for space hardware”.

So when I downloaded my digital Lego building program, my inspiration naturally turned to making a spaceship.

I wanted to make a really big ship, but being unfamiliar with MLCad and its ins and outs, I thought it might be wiser to start with something a little smaller. Besides, I’d need a standard shuttlecraft for my Lego space fleet.

This is the result. A nice heavy-duty shuttlecraft in Classic Space colours, able to transport up to 20 minifigures at one time.

The Orion Transport

The Orion Transport

The octagonal rings on the sides are what I’m using as a standard docking ring for my minifig-scale Classic Space fleet, and they actually work, sort of. The half-cylinder revolves to make an airlock-style door (though I couldn’t quite manage to make the door be a full cylinder that would open, so when it’s halfway rotated all the air would rush out).

I’m naming it after my favourite constellation, so this is the Orion Transport.

3/4 rear view

3/4 rear view

Underside

Underside

Side view.  Note the helmetless crew in the pressurised interior.

Side view. Note the helmetless crew in the pressurised passenger compartment as well as the helmeted flight crew.

Cutaway showing the Orion inside the internal boat bay of the large Thermopylae-class Star Frigate

Cutaway showing the Orion inside the internal boat bay of the large Thermopylae-class Star Frigate

Leave a Reply

