LSS Thermopylae

This is my first really big digital Lego model.  Naturally, it’s a spaceship.  It has a sort of “Classic Space goes to war” vibe that I’m quite pleased with, and is obviously largely inspired by seagoing battleships and their spacegoing equivalents.

LSS Thermopylae

LSS Thermopylae

Side view

Side view

After aspect from below

After aspect from below

I built the rear of the ship so that it would open up to reveal an internal shuttlebay, but being unfamiliar with some of the foibles of MLCad, the way I did it was completely unconducive to grouping all the door bricks together into a single unit that could be rotated open together.  I know better now, but I was building as if it were real bricks and doing what I would have naturally done.  So I had to tear the back off in order to show you the inside:

Cutaway showing the Orion inside the internal boat bay of the large Thermopylae-class Star Frigate

Cutaway showing the Orion inside the internal boat bay of the large Thermopylae-class Star Frigate

Inside the boat bay showing the flight operations deck

Inside the boat bay showing the flight operations deck

Leave a Reply

