Asian Dragon

It seems like even in Ninjago, most LEGO dragons look like the Western breed. The bat-like wings, the muscular body, the fire-breathing, all Western dragon features.

Eastern or Asian dragons are a bit different. More serpentine, usually not winged (but still capable of flight), moustachioed, bearded and antlered.

I decided to see what I could do to construct an Asian-style dragon.

Asian dragon

Asian dragon

This is the result.

I’ve incorporated a lot of colours – for once deliberately – trying for the sort of rainbow effect that might be expected from a creature associated with both fire and water.  (This was also a necessity because of needing the bricks, but if I’d had unlimited bricks in all colours I still would have made it multicoloured).

054

I’d have liked to have used whip pieces for the moustache filaments, but I only have one, and it wasn’t going to work unless I had two. So I used antennas. You Work With What You Have.

Closeup of the head

Closeup of the head

I think I used every single claw piece I possess, in black, white, silver and gold, and I know I used every single clickstop universal joint I have.  I could have done with four more to make it less fragile and difficult to balance. I think it was worth it, though.

Closeup of the tail tip

Closeup of the tail tip

I hope you like him. He was fun to build.

The dragon together with some Ninjago ninjas for scale

The dragon together with some Ninjago ninjas for scale

One thought on “Asian Dragon

  1. Pingback: Here Be Dragons | Square Feet

Leave a Reply

