Iced

Well, my son made the reasonable assumption that my ghost ship (last time) was indeed a Ninjago ghost ship. “Can we build a Ninja ship too?”, he asked. So I built a sort of diminutive version of the Destiny’s Bounty, but it’s not really good enough to show.

100_5679

This ice mech, however, I’m sufficiently pleased with to publicise.

100_5672

Zane’s turned up again since I built the white dragon, but sans his ninja mask, which appears to be permanently missing. I’ve ordered a replacement from Bricklink now (for my son’s upcoming 6th birthday next month), so I’ll probably find it some time in the next two or three weeks :P.

100_5673

Anyway, this is an ice mech for the titanium Ice Ninja to drive. It’s a while since I’ve buuilt a proper mech, and I’m quite pleased with the semiorganic look of the legs and arms. Apparently dragonbuilding pays off in mech limb construction technique.

100_5676

The framed rollbar cockpit canopy is a new departure for my mechs, but I’m mostly pleased with it. I think all white would have been better, but Saurian’s First Rule states that “You Use What You Have”. That was what was available, and it still fits the basic colour scheme as per Saurian’s Third Rule.

100_5674

My son added a sword to the claw hand, but it’s gold, which breaks the Third Rule (“Being OCD About Brick Colour Is Always Worthwhile”). So here’s the mech without it.

100_5677

3 thoughts on “Iced

  1. Luke Skytrekker

    Ooh, epic mech, Saurian! It looks quite beast-y, in both senses of the word. It is quite organic looking—nice job with that! Don’t usually see that approach taken with Lego mechs.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Pingback: “Oh No! A Rancor!” | Square Feet

  3. Pingback: Prey of the Wampa | Square Feet

Leave a Reply

