Prey of the Wampa

100_5738

Star Wars‘ own Abominable Snowman, the Wampa, obviously, is native to Hoth. My guess is that it preys on wild tauntauns and whatever other lifeforms Hoth manages to support.

If its approach to Luke is at all typical, it’s an ambush hunter that has the interesting habit of bringing excess food back to a suitable ice cave and hanging it from the roof by freezing its feet into the ice.

100_5735

Also, it’s apparently none too concerned whether its prey is fully dead before dragging it home either.

If the legs seem familiar, it’s because I modified them slightly from the ice mech. They seem to work even better here.

100_5739

I think I’m most pleased with the horns. The forward-curving horns of the original are difficult to reproduce well in LEGO bricks, but I’m quite proud of what I’ve managed here. They’re technically coming from a little low on his head, but we ca work with that. Actually building these creatures isn’t easy, you know.

100_5736

I’m not sure if those legs aren’t actually too big and powerful, but you never really get a good profile of the creature in The Empire Strikes Back, so I’m declaring artistic license to interpret it how I like. Powerful legs for a short dash or pounce from ambush would fit the Wampa’s shown lifestyle.

What with me moaning last time that most Star Wars creatures aren’t all that well-thought-out, the Wampa’s one of the better ones. It actually feels like a real(ish) creature.

100_5740

2 thoughts on “Prey of the Wampa

  1. Luke Skytrekker

    Wow, great build! Those horns are fantastically shaped. I’m not sure about the wideness of the hips, myself, but once again, we really never get a good view in Empire, so I guess it is up for interpretation. Anyway, great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

