Hydra Deep Space Probe

The Hydra deep space probe, LL-817

Well, it seems like I still haven’t got the elements for a full-scale Classic Space SHIP, but this does represent a substantial increase in size over my previous “largest Classic Spaceship”. At 25¼” long, it tops out at a smidge over 80 studs, which is 160% of my previous 50-stud Classic maximum.

This represents my first minifig-scale spaceship with a real interior rather than just a cockpit. The inside isn’t all that interesting, but there’s space for several astronauts to sit, stand or walk around. As built, it contains a red astronaut, a white astronaut, a blue astronaut, a green astronaut and my new yellow astronaut, so now I only need a black astronaut to have the full set of available colours.

It’s perhaps a little boxy and clunky, and those three fins give it something of a scaled-up Colonial Viper look, but as an experiment in “just how big can I build a Classic Spaceship these days?” I’m going to call it a success.

Engine section. Those half cones make a pretty good scaled-up Classic Space-style rocket nozzle.

As far as names go, with that obvious Colonial Viper ancestry, it needed some kind of scaled-up snake name, but nothing too predatory. It’s a probe ship rather than a combat craft, and the name should reflect that if possible.

After some thought, I went with “Hydra”, putatively after the constellation rather than the mythological monster, so this is the Hydra Deep Space Probe.

3 thoughts on “Hydra Deep Space Probe

  1. Luke Skytrekker

    Freaking love this! It’s amazing to see you take your skills to a ship so much bigger than your usual fare! I actually really like the cockpit section, and the general fact it has a real-deal interior of sorts. I feel like not enough people build real interiors to their ships, let alone to large ones at minifig scale. It’s both bulky and sleek, which is great, and in general is just an epic Classic Space cruiser. Fantastic work!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. geoffhorswood Post author

      Thanks! I was really hoping I had enough blue and grey now for a minifing-scale Classic SHIP, but even with that length-cheating cylindrical front section it wasn’t to be. Or at least not with that design.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a comment