rocket, Rocket, ROCKET!!!!!

If Benny’s spaceship Spaceship SPACESHIP was a kind of modern distillation of the 1980s’ classic blue and grey ships, I guess this is a rocket Rocket ROCKET!!!

Jenny’s rocket, Rocket, ROCKET!!!

Piloted by a red-suited female astronaut (Jenny, presumably), this is my first honest-to-goodness stands-on-its-tail space rocket built as an AFOL, and I really can’t remember building one as a kid either.

Of course, back in the Days of Yore there weren’t nearly so many cool types of elements to build a rocket with. If you wanted a cylindrical rocket you had to build it out of 2×2 macaronis. And anyway, raised on a steady diet of Star Wars, Buck Rogers and Battlestar Galactica (the original, of course) I thought that mere rockets were primitive. If I was going to Build A Spaceship, then by the mustache of Johnny Thunder it was going to be a galaxy-hopping hyperspace-stardrive evil-alien-butt-kicking Spaceship, not some namby-pamby rocket so primitive it worked by burning chemical fuel.

Engine section detail

These days, my latent retrofuturism is a lot closer to the surface. I actually have a sense of nostalgia now, and the idea of building an “old-fashioned” rocketship is a much friendlier one.

Built in NCS colours because SPACESHIP!!!, this isn’t even the largest Neoclassic Space rocketship I could build. There are several elements in my inventory that are pretty rocket-y and yet I chose not to use them.

But it’s definitely a rocket.

I was surprised to find myself actually using the Technic-tracks-wrapped-wrong-way trick. I’ve seen other people use this before but I’ve never been particularly inspired by it, especially on an NCS creation. But several Classic Space vessels used black (in other locations than the “bumblebee” hazard stripes), for example the Space Dart and the Gamma-V Laser Craft, and I find myself liking the look here. I may even do that again.

Cockpit capsule detail

The diminutive cockpit, capsule or miniature reusable shuttlecraft (I’m not sure which) perched atop the main body is the most conventionally Classic Spaceship-shaped part. Again, this was by design. I could have built this as a pure conventional rocket, but I wanted to build something that had at least one crewmember, and what’s the point of building something with a crewmember if she’s invisible?

If that’s not a capsule of a sort perched on the apex, then this is an SSTO (Single Stage To Orbit) rocket of a type beloved by 1950s sci-fi but which we’ve yet to figure out in practice. I think I prefer that idea, on reflection. It seems a bit of a waste to have that whole glorious bottom section with its ring of drive units and its fins and its minor greebling all be disposable.

3/4 Side angle

I’ve got some eventual ambitions toward a proper 1950s-comic-book-style Dan Dare/Flash Gordon/Buck Rogers rocketship with trilateral symmetry and a fully-fitted-out interior, but that’ll probably have to wait on the acquisition of more bricks. Jenny’s 1980-something rocket, Rocket, ROCKET!!!! is a nice start in that direction, though.

One more time: rocket, Rocket, ROCKET!!!!

4 thoughts on “rocket, Rocket, ROCKET!!!!!

  1. Luke Skytrekker

    *Whistles.* This is glorious! Absolutely fantastic! The detailing you’ve achieved here is just superb! Most Lego rockets I’ve seen have always been very plain cylinders, in line with most modern rockets we have. The more greebled, dimensional design you’ve gone for is just brilliant! I wish this style was its own genre, honestly, as I rather adore it. The greebles you’ve done here are just epic—I love the fins and those upside-down-U-bits of piping, and the inverted technic track section. Also, I really quite like how you’ve incorporated the traditional bumblebee-stripe using 2×2 cylinders—incredibly clever and fitting! All-in-all a beautiful, spaceshippy rocket like no other I’ve seen!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. geoffhorswood Post author

      Yeah. My next Bricklink buy is probably going to be some 2×4 cylinder halves, as I feel the crimp of not having any quite a lot when it comes to NCS builds. Thus, I went for a more greebly, spaceshippy design rather than a scaled-up version of the original black-and-white cy;indrical Classic Space rockets.
      Besides, I started with that ring of engine nozzles and built up from there, and trying to build a cylindrical rocket from that base was just going to look weird.
      Ergo a more retrofuture Neoclassic Space-meets-Flash Gordon look to my rocketship.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Space | Square Feet

  3. Pingback: Would You Like To Connect To This Network? | Square Feet

Leave a comment